You gonna make Biscuits?!

My old college roommate is to blame for me knowing about Invader Zim, btw.

Yes, I’m gonna make biscuits. Delicious biscuits with gravy. OK, well obviously since I’m making this post, I’ve already made them, but just play along.

Biscuits and gravy

Biscuits are easily my favorite bread item. I don’t know why they make me so happy, but they do. Maybe because they’re so easy to make, and cheap. Or because they’re tangy and buttery and unbelievably delicious. It’s a toss-up.

PREP: I started with the biscuits because they take the longest and it would leave me with plenty of time to make the bacon and gravy while they baked. I love traditional rolled and circle-cut biscuits, but I’m far more partial to the mountainous drop biscuits (it makes easy biscuits even easier, and virtually eliminates waste). So I mixed 2 cups of all purpose flour, 2 Tbsp sugar, 4 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp baking soda, and 3/4 tsp salt. I then used a pastry cutter to cut in 2 Tbsp each of chilled butter and shortening. Once the mixture resembled course sand, I added 1 cup of cold buttermilk, and 1/4 cup of whole milk. This made a lovely lump of very sticky dough (if you want to roll out and circle-cut your biscuits, leave out the 1/4 c of milk). This is where drop biscuits are the bees knees: I don’t have to roll anything out, I don’t have to get flour all over my counter, I don’t have to cut, combine and repeat (giving me progressively tougher biscuits). I just take two spoons, scoop up some dough a little larger than a golfball, and scrape it onto a parchment-lined cookie sheet. Repeat this about a dozen times, then brush the tops with melted butter, and throw in a sprinkling of sea salt.

COOK: Throw into a 350°F oven, and bake these for about 12-15 minutes, or until the tops begin to brown.

Meanwhile, I started cooking my bacon. Anytime I make a sauce, I use a stainless steel pan, not non-stick. You can’t deglaze a non-stick pan, and the sauce will taste greasy and…well…different. Since I don’t like washing dishes, and I really want the bacon flavor in my gravy, I cooked the bacon in the same pan I planned to make my gravy. Once the bacon (1lb) was cooked, I drained about half of the grease, then started cooking my sausage. Leaving the sausage in the pan, I added flour (trying to equal the amount of grease in the pan), and stirred it all up, letting the grease cook the flour a little bit before adding the milk. When I make sauces, I never measure anything. It’s all by eye. If I had to guess, I’d say I added about 3/4c of milk, followed by 1/4 c of heavy cream. You’ll have to play it by ear to get the gravy to to correct consistency. If you have too much flour, and not enough milk, you’ll get a lovely dough ball in your pan. If you add too much milk, however, it’s hard to thicken it again without changing the flavor. A good rule of thumb is to add just enough milk to cover the sausage, then add your cream.

Once the gravy thickens, which shouldn’t take long, take a taste and add salt until you’re happy with it. Now, I like a lot of black pepper in my sausage gravy, so I use about 2 tsp or so. You can adjust this to match your preference and tolerance for spicy. Once you stir in the salt and pepper, you’re done. Remove it from the heat.

ASSEMBLY: Simple enough. Take a delicious, craggy biscuit, or two….or three, toss em in a bowl, laddle the gravy on top, and serve with a side of bacon. Because, well….bacon.

REVIEW: Best Breakfast ever! I make this often, so I’ve had plenty of opportunities to perfect it.

RATING: ★★★★★
Definitely one of my favorite things to make.

 

Biscuit Recipe:
2 c all purpose flour
2 Tbsp sugar
4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
2 Tbsp cold, unsalted butter
2 Tbsp shortening
1 c cold buttermilk
1/4 c cold whole milk
2 Tbsp butter, melted
sea salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

2. Mix flour, sugar, baking power, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.

3. Using a pastry cutter, cut in the butter and shortening until the mixture resembles coarse sand.

4. Pour in the cold buttermilk and whole milk while stirring to combine.

5. Spoon golfball sized dollops onto parchment-lined baking sheet. Brush with melted butter and a sprinkle of sea salt.

6. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until lightly browned on top.

 

Sausage Gravy Recipe:
1 lb bacon
1 lb breakfast sausage of your choice
2 Tbsp flour
~3/4 c whole milk (may need more or less, to achieve desired consistency)
1/4 c heavy cream
1-2 tsp black pepper, to taste
salt to taste

Directions:

1. Cook bacon in large stainless steel skillet. Remove bacon, drain on paper towels. Set aside.

2. Add sausage to bacon fat and brown completely. Drain fat from pan, leaving at least 2 Tbsp behind.

3. Add flour to sausage and bacon fat and cook over medium-high heat for 30-60 seconds.

4. Add milk and cream, and stir to combine. mixture will begin to thicken. Add more milk as necessary to thin gravy. Keep in mind it will slowly continue to thicken as it cooks.

5. Cook until it reaches the desired consistency . Add salt and pepper to taste.

6. Toss some on those biscuits and serve with a side of bacon. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

