A day in the raw

One of the biggest problems I’m having transitioning to raw is figuring out what to eat every day. When I cook food, I have no trouble being creative, but raw food is a completely different beast to tame. Combining raw flavors produces wildly different results than cooking them together. Not to mention, there is a whole range of ingredients that become off limits. No dairy, no meat, no grains/rice/wheat, no potatoes, etc since they have either already been cooked or require cooking to be edible and palatable.

So, I decided to just stick to what I know and love and keep it simple. It may seem boring while you read it, but it hasn’t bored me yet and my body seems to love it.

Breakfast:
Fruit/veggie smoothie
– greens, like kale or spinach
– fruits, depending on the flavor I want:
– pineapple mango peach
– strawberry banana
– mixed berry (blueberry, blackberry, strawberry, raspberry)
– strawberry lime
– veggies, like carrots, cucumber (use sparingly), maybe a jalapeno if I’m feeling bold.
– spirulina, for added protein
– almond milk
– ice

I just blend it all together in a blender and take it to go in a mason jar to drink on my way to work.

Or, if that doesn’t happen, which is often, I keep fruits and veggies on hand at work, and I’ll usually eat…

1 whole cantaloupe
2 bananas, or whatever fruit I have on hand
handful of mixed raw nuts (almonds, cashews, pecans, brazil nuts, pistachios, walnuts, etc)
40-60 oz of water

Lunch/Dinner:
2-3 carrots
1 large avocado (sometimes I add a dash of garlic salt, or mix it with the diced tomato below to make a quick guacamole salad)
3-4 fruits (usually an apple, banana, mango, some strawberries, or one cantaloupe if I didn’t eat one for breakfast)
1/2 c (2 servings) mixed raw nuts
1 globe tomato
1 green bell pepper (great for scooping guacamole)
1 red or yellow bell pepper (also great for scooping guacamole)
40-60 oz of water

DSC_0280

(typical work day lunch – $6.57)

DSC_0323

(I get these mixed raw nuts from HEB for $6/8oz bag. This is the fastest way to get a healthy mix of raw nuts. If you want to save money, look for bulk nuts at HEB, Whole Foods, Kroger, etc, and mix your own.)

That’s my ideal day. Now, I can tell you that while I’m transitioning I still slip up. I try my best to at least eat 2 full raw meals a day during my transition (typically breakfast and lunch). I will admit that it’s incredibly uncommon for me to eat all three raw meals in a day. I don’t want to create the illusion that the transition is a snap, because it’s not, but once you start to notice the health, mood, and cost benefits of raw, your cravings slowly start to shift. You’ll start to feel even worse after consuming the foods you’ve lived on for years, and you’ll start to push yourself away from that stuff pretty hard. But there’s still that tiny amount of lingering comfort left that will keep drawing you back. It’s a vicious cycle, but it shouldn’t last too long [I hope].

So anyway, that’s the stuff I eat throughout the day. Maybe it will help you get an idea of what to expect if you decide to transition, or at least give raw a try.

I challenge you to replace at least one meal with one of the raw meals above and see how it affects you the rest of the day. You’ll probably be surprised.

Leave a Reply

